Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > Asking for advice    

Asking for advice

Emy Lee
Canada

Asking for advice

Hello everyone,

I �m having an issue with one of my students and I would like to ask for your opinion and advice.

Some time ago, I �ve been assigned a tutorial conversation class with a nine year-old boy, one hour a day from Monday to Friday. The kid is a complete beginner, so you can imagine the struggle of having him talk. Actually, he would need to improve all of his skills. Though, that is not the real problem. I planned games and activities and so far, I got him to speak. Well, a bit.

From the start, he barely talked, nodded and shaked his head for answering instead of saying a clear �yes � or �no �, showing almost no interest in class, failed to fill the worksheets, drawing in his notebook, etc. Again, this is not the real problem because I always managed to have him warm up to the lesson and participate.

The real problem is that is it obvious that he doesn �t want to take the class. I felt it the first day. It seems that his parents forced him to. And he confirmed it to me later... in a rather rude way. Lately, he became quite disrespectful, as he wanted to make me pay somehow. I �m supposed to be his teacher for one last week, but his mother told me she planned to have her son sign up for an other two months. I don �t know if he can handle it...