Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > TEACHING OLDER LEARNERS    

TEACHING OLDER LEARNERS

jucordeiro
Brazil

TEACHING OLDER LEARNERS

Hi dear teachers...

I have been working for 10 years and I have a large experience with adults and children. But last month I got a group of older people (more than 50 years old). They are in an intermediate level. I have prepared some activities and lesson plans, but I feel sometimes it �s not working...

I have researched a lot and found some articles on the net, but it was not enough for me... 
Has anybody ever worked with this kind of student? Any tips for me?

Thanks a lot!

XXX from Brazil

20 Sep 2010      

GIOVANNI
Canada

I have taught older people and have found that the main problem is hearing and vision.  Sometimes a person doesn �t hear well and that influences their ability to progress.  I have found that some are embarrassed to say they can �t hear properly and are also worried about making mistakes.  Try and place anyone who you think may have a problem in front of the class.  If they are in good health, I don�t think their ability is any different.

20 Sep 2010     

yulya_esl
Ukraine

With older students I try to do as many listening activities as I can. Also they don �t memorize new words as easy as younger ones, so i mainly concentrate on vocabulary.

Have a nice day!

20 Sep 2010     

puddyd
Oman