Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > How would you continue?    

How would you continue?

Mietz
Germany

How would you continue?

Dear colleagues,

I �ve been teaching a couple of total beginner classes for a few weeks now with adult students who are motivated but pretty weak.
So far I �ve done loads of practise on the alphabet + spelling e-mail-addresses, the numbers, dates, time, etc. I �ve tried to make it fun and interactive. Still - the tests I �ve written with both classes did not show good results.Ermm

I �m feeling rather torn now. I think, that these things are the basics and they are needed in business life (one wrong letter in an e-mail-address could lose business, same with wrong telephone or order numbers...). (All of them want to go into office jobs...)

Would you do more practise with them now to create a better and more solid basis, or would you continue with a new subject (like "Office activities and Simple Present" or "Telephoning")? Have you experienced similar situations? What worked well with you?

One more thing - they are studying other subjects, too and given that they are all on a rehabilitational training, they were told, that they shouldn �t work outside school. (I �ve got them 4 lessons a week.)

Thanks for being around!
Mietz

2 Aug 2011      

ueslteacher
Ukraine

Could you keep practicing the old stuff adding a little bit of something new?