Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > Help!! Lack of discipline...    

Help!! Lack of discipline...

Mafalda31
Greece

Help!! Lack of discipline...

OK.  I am an English teacher. I deal with children aged  10 to14.
My problem is that the kids are too noisy- I try to be strict but when I look at that sad faces I again loosen up and end up having them too relaxed! I just can�t find the balance. I want them to like me but also respect me and be quiet. I mean it is just a 10 or twelve student class each, how hard can it be? I am pretty mad right now, because I had a row with my boss who doesn�t seem to understand nothing more than figures if you know what I mean.. Anyway, there is a problem with a specific class which has students from various age groups and it seems that shouting at the old ones who don�t seem to care is unfair to the younger ones and especially new ones who don�t know me and look so intimidated by me.. It�s difficult for me right now, and I probably need to think things through, but I would appreciate any type of advice......Thank you

28 Sep 2011      

manonski (f)
Canada

Hi

I usually try catching my students doing good but one year, it was especially tough with some classes so I came out with this system: