Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Grammar and Linguistics > Conditional Type 1    

Conditional Type 1

k3shi4
Indonesia

Conditional Type 1

Dear friends, 

As I am an English tutor, I have some students. Yesterday, One of them told me that she studied Conditional Type 1. Her teacher taught her the fact for that type. As long as I studied Conditional (when I was in high school and university), I never learnt that there was a fact for conditional type 1 (none of my teachers and lecturers taught me about it) and the other teachers of my students also never taught it. So my question is, is there really a fact for conditional type 1?

Here are some of the examples given by her teacher:
Conditional:  If Ruli helps me, we can finish our work.
Fact   :  Ruli doesn �t help me so that we can �t finish our work.

Fact   : Because we are the 12th grade students, we prepare the final exam.
Conditional: If we are the 12th grade students, we wouldn �t prepare the final exam.

Thank you. :)

3 Sep 2012      

yanogator
United States

I don �t quite understand why you are using the word "fact" here. A fact is something that is true. What you have in your first example is a counter-example for the situation of the conditional. In your second example, you just have a negation of the second part, which doesn �t work with the conditional. Also, "wouldn �t" isn �t the right form for your sentence.