Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Grammar and Linguistics > A little confused, can anybody help?    

A little confused, can anybody help?

refis24
United Kingdom

A little confused, can anybody help?

Hi, I am a new teacher. I was teaching a pre entry lesson today and we were learning He is, She is etc. I was talking about my husband and I said �he is at home �

One of my students then wrote �he is at Supermarket � I said it should be �he is at the supermarket � she said why and I was stumped! In honesty, I do get confused with �the � :/ I must do some more study on it.  

Is there a simple rule that I can teach my students?

Thanks in advance :)))))

15 Mar 2013      

spinney
United Kingdom

There is only one home but "the" supermarket because it �s a specific supermarket out of many, er, I suppose!
However, I always tell them that with regards to verbs of locomation (walk, go, swim, fly etc.) we never use "to" with the following three words:
home, here, there.
I don �t know if that �s any help.Confused

15 Mar 2013     

edrodmedina
United States

Unless the store is called Supermarket then it should be lower case letters. Supermarket is a generic name for a store that sells groceries. It is not a proper noun. That is as if someone has a dog and its name is Dog, then it would be capitalized. Ed

15 Mar 2013     

ueslteacher
Ukraine