Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > HOW DO YOU ARRANGE THE DURATION FOR A 3-4 PAGE EXAM/TEST?    

HOW DO YOU ARRANGE THE DURATION FOR A 3-4 PAGE EXAM/TEST?

gulgunmurat
Turkey

HOW DO YOU ARRANGE THE DURATION FOR A 3-4 PAGE EXAM/TEST?

I am a teacher of English at a high school  in Turkey. Like all of you, I want to prepare full and long exam papers including grammar, vocabulary and the skills.( I have examined the exam papers of yours  and downloaded some.)   However, there are some obstacles on my way. 

-In  my country classes last for 40 minutes. It is not long enough to give an over-all exam in such a short time. I have 2 periods for the same grades ( let �s say 10/B). I can combine the periods but this time breaks will cause problem. While my students are having the exam, others will be in the corridors and because of their noise, my students will lose their attention in the exam. Even if I ignored this, another problem will arouse: �t is cumpolsory to give the same exam (they are called common exams) paper at the same time which will lead to monitoring trouble. Let �s think I am giving an exam in 10/B. I can handle with everything, but other 10th grades will be monitored by other teachers who have no idea about English. Interactive/Smart boards ar like space ships for some of them :)