Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > POWERPOINT Presentations    

POWERPOINT Presentations

ldthemagicman
United Kingdom

POWERPOINT Presentations

POWERPOINT Presentations

When I worked as an ESOL teacher in College, I noticed that very few teachers used PowerPoint as a means of teaching.

When they did, the slides were almost always static, often black and white, usually in small font, and the teacher stood at the computer, regularly pressing a key to move to the next slide.

Not all teachers worked like this, but many did.

I realise that some schools, unfortunately, don�t have computers � indeed, some do not have electricity � and not all teachers are familiar with the computer. So, I can understand the difficulties.

However, on ESLP, there are numerous excellent PowerPoints, already prepared, and some are automatic. With one of these presentations, all the teacher has to do, is to start the computer on PowerPoint, click �Slide Show� and click �From Beginning�. If it�s automatically timed, the presentation runs itself to the end. If not, the teacher does nothing more than clicking the �Down� arrow to change to the next slide.

There are many advantages to using a good visual presentation.

1. Needs little preparation.

2. Effective teaching method.

3. Engages attention of students.

4. No standing in queue for photocopying.

5. Needs no chalk, pens, Whiteboard, etc.