Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Games, activities and teaching ideas > Ice breaking activities    

Ice breaking activities

irisha_dl
United Kingdom

Ice breaking activities

Dear all,

Could anyone give any ideas for the first lesson with a new class of 13-15 year old students. The lesson is 1.5 hours long. I am a new teacher, and a bit scared of the first lesson

Many thanks

18 Jun 2009      

frenchfrog
France

http://wilderdom.com/games/Icebreakers.html Wink

18 Jun 2009     

baiba
Latvia

Thanks for the wonderful link, frenchfrog!

18 Jun 2009     

Ivona
Serbia

http://www.eslprintables.com/forum/search.asp?query=ice+breaker&username=&fromday=0&frommonth=0&fromyear=0&today=0&tomonth=0&toyear=0&B4=Search

18 Jun 2009     

sazzag
United Kingdom

One of my favourite 1st activity with teenagers is this:

You take a new toilet roll to class.  You pass it round asking each student to take as much or as little as they like.  They then have to tell you one piece of information about themselves for each piece they took.  There is always one student who takes loads and for some reason the whole toilet paper thing makes everyone laugh.

I did it at the beginning of my classes this year at my new school and they still remember it now 9 months later.