Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Grammar and Linguistics > will be - was be ??    

will be - was be ??

miharbi80
Brazil

will be - was be ??

We can say " I will be a teacher"  but why can �t we say I was be a teacher? what is the reason?

15 Feb 2010      

ELOJOLIE274
France

well,
"was" is the verb BE in the past!!! so you can say "I was a teacher" "I �m a teacher" or "I will be a teacher" but you �re refering to different times...

but there �s something I don �t understand: the verb BE is one of the 1st verbs you learn when you �re learning English, so how can you be a teacher if you don �t know that?? I don �t want to sound disrespectful or anything but i �m just wondering...
maybe there �s a problem in your question... were you wondering if you can say "I was being a teacher"??

bye

15 Feb 2010     

zoemorosini
United States

I share miharbi80 �s sense of wonder.  I �m interested in the etymology of different English verbs and such; why do we conjugate "to be" when in past tense but not after modals?  There must be a reason based in the history of the language.  I don �t think miharbi80 doesn �t know to change the verb--just why does it change in this way?

I look forward to other members � knowledgeable comments regarding this!

15 Feb 2010     

Vernica
Belgium