Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Games, activities and teaching ideas > What do you remember from your own English lessons?    

What do you remember from your own English lessons?

MarionG
Netherlands

What do you remember from your own English lessons?

I was wondering, what is it you remember from your English classes when you were studying ?(mainly for non natives...)
Personally I started studying English only in high school (yes I am that old). I must have learned a lot of English since most of my university studies were already in English but I  remember almost nothing from the lessons themselves. To be honest, I remember only two things; the word �gerund � (don �t ask me why) and I remember that we learned the song "Streets of London". The song really made an impression on me, and so did the fact that the teacher brought us a song as a tool to learn. Maybe that is the reason I work a lot with songs now that I am a teacher myself.
I am interested to hear what you remember from English class and why? I think checking what we ourselves remember might help to find ways of teaching students really connect with.

ps. I brought streets of London to my 6th graders and told them of my connection to the song. I was afraid they might think it is too drippy and old fashioned but they really liked it!

23 Sep 2010      

Mietz
Germany

Good question!