Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Message board > About Halloween celebration    

About Halloween celebration

lapaoiza
Argentina

About Halloween celebration

Hello Everyone!

I�m writing today because when 31st October arrives, a lot of people start arguing about celebrating Halloween in my country.

Since I went to an English institute, Halloween has been celebrated here and it was a lot of fun... but now, that I am a teacher, there are people who don�t like children dressing up because they say it is an evil celebration...

What I do is to let them know that, as it is a tradition in some English speaking countries, we celebrate it to have a different activity in our class, to have fun, dress up, sing and play in English, creating another environment for learning...

What to you do in your countries? Is there this feeling of "rejection" for Halloween? Is correct what I say / think or am I wrong?

I sometimes feel disappointed by the people who says (in my country) that Halloween is WRONG... but they don�t really know anything about it... so I would like to have your sincere opinion about it... (I hope I have been clear explaining this post)

Have a nice weekend you all... and a ClownHAPPY HALLOWEEN! WinkLOL

31 Oct 2010      

manonski (f)
Canada

Hi

Halloween is a well celebrated holiday here. Even adults get dressed up and have costume parties.