Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Games, activities and teaching ideas > Hi, I need help!    

Hi, I need help!

millmo
France

Hi, I need help!

I have two 12 year old boys to whom I teach English. I have been teaching them for 3 years now. My problem is two fold. Their parents now want more grammar included in the lessons ( before it was general vocab and games etc), but the boys wantr to have fun and find written work and grammar extremely boring. I feel I need to spice things up a bit for them...anyone any experience like this that can give me some suggestions?

I have tried watching films and answering questions, I have tried battleship type games.........One of the boys is really restless and gets bored within 3 seconds!!!!!

28 Dec 2010      

Attoff
Egypt

Hi dear ,  
                I think it �s easy .  you can teach them grammar through games. You can find tons of these games everywhere. Like this , you can hit two birds with one stone .

28 Dec 2010     

zailda
Brazil

If they get bored, you can use ppt games (you �ll find tons of here), boardgames, songs. There are some oral tasks that you can use as a competition and children love competition.

Teach comparatives and superlatives during a game, students have to guess who you are talking about: "who �s the tallest student?" - also useful for who questions.