Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Techniques and methods in Language Teaching > storytelling 0-3    

storytelling 0-3

wende
Spain

storytelling 0-3

A couple of months ago I asked for good books for very young learners, and you helped me a lot. I have some experience in teaching children 3 to 5, but absolutely none in teaching children 0-3. I might have the opportunity to tell stories in English to children that age once a week, and  to be honest, I �m scared.  Do you have any suggestion on how to manage the activity? I can think of re-telling the story with their help, songs and puppets...
How do I manage the situation? They will be at kindergarten, and their educators will be with me, but how do I have to behave? THANK YOU, you always save my life

30 Sep 2011      

boydegg
Thailand

Hi Wende

When I read to my son (almost 3), he loves it when I pause in a sentence for him to supply the next word. This works particularly well with stories that rhyme ...

We looked and we saw him step in on the mat
We looked and we saw him, the (pause) CAT in the (pause) HAT

A mouse took a stroll in the deep, dark wood
A fox saw the mouse and the mouse looked (pause) GOOD

He also likes if I ask him questions about the pictures:

What �s this?
And what �s that?
What �s the mouse doing?
How many frogs are there?  etc etc