Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Ask for help > I need some advice    

I need some advice

woodge78
Israel

I need some advice

Hi,

I have been teaching an adult business English for the last 6 months. He came to me in order to improve his speech. I have taught him first the basic grammar and vocab needed (tenses, adj, adv, articles, nouns etc). We then moved on to building sentences. When I give him homework, he does it well; however, he cannot translate his knowledge to speech or free writing. It is as though all the rules I had taught, he forgot. I would like to ask for advice on how I should overcome this obstacle with him.

Any advice is welcomed!

Tamar Oron

23 Feb 2009      

eng789
Israel

For speaking - maybe try working with dialogues regarding real situations.  Like shopping.  If he starts reading them, he may gain enough confidence to answer simple questions. 
For writing - you could give him the beginning of a sentence and have him complete it orally and then try to write it. 

23 Feb 2009     

HARIM
Morocco

Hi Woodge,
So far you have done a good job.
Now it �s time to create opportunities where this learner can put all what he/she has learnt into practice.
-Start with questions and teach him/her how to ask and answer.Go from easy to difficult.
-Describe people/places/things/pictures....
-Express opinion/likes and dislikes/Offer/Suggestion/Agreeing and disgreeing....
Please Don �t over correct.Over correction hinders learning.