Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Teaching material > Oh, Lord! I have much too much material.    

Oh, Lord! I have much too much material.

Matthew@ELSP
Japan

Oh, Lord! I have much too much material.

I have been teaching English for about 14 years now, and I have made... and made... and made... so many (thousands of) activities that storage and retrieval is now my main issue.
Having split my materials into the following three main folders (hundreds and hundreds of sub folders) I now spend far too much time wondering what I have, despite the fact that I made 99% of my materials from scratch.
So, how best should I organize (re-organize) my digital materials?
I am sure that this is a stupid question and that someone, perhaps many folks, has already suggested great solutions.

Example.
Let’s say I want to find, catalogue and organize my “numbers” activities. I have to search though the three main folders and their subfolders: Junior high sets / Elementary sets / images and flashcards.

If you, too, have encountered and solved this issue, please offer a brief suggestion, including software options, not just “re-make all your folders according to theme and then level folders inside those.” Perhaps that’s the only option?

Yes, I can just do a file-browser search on the entire USB, but that is often less effective than I would like (because I may not have named every single file with the most ideal name, etc).

27 Jul 2021      

anitarobi
Croatia