Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Teaching material > Books for beginner adults.    

Books for beginner adults.

cheezels
New Zealand

Books for beginner adults.

Hi everyone!
I am about to begin teaching refugee adults here in Sweden (5 groups with a 2 hour lesson per week)
I have been told that some (not all) will have little education from their own country and that some will be complete beginners. ( English is the second language here in Sweden that is why it is being asked for it to be taught....)

I would prefer to work from something very structured for the beginner adult group(s) and mix in my own flashcards and vocabulary work. I will not be able to photocopy much here (if any), which is why I am looking at the book option....
I already have great stuff for intermediate+, but nothing for real ADULT beginners.

What books or series of books have worked well for your adult beginners? I need to check out options as soon as possible!
Thanks!
Feel free to PM me as well as I am about to go out for groceries, so I am sorry if I don �t reply straight away! Big smile

21 Mar 2009      

arkel
Ireland

I use Face2face (CUP) with very good results.

21 Mar 2009     

mumekaren
Argentina

hi cheezels. I work with New English file 1 . It �s interesting and dynamic .

21 Mar 2009     

ARaquelSP
Portugal

There is New Headway Beginner which is also interesting. Or New Cutting Edge Starter.

21 Mar 2009     

zoemorosini
United States

HI there!