Welcome to
ESL Printables, the website where English Language teachers exchange resources: worksheets, lesson plans,  activities, etc.
Our collection is growing every day with the help of many teachers. If you want to download you have to send your own contributions.

ESL Forum:

Techniques and methods in Language Teaching

Games, activities and teaching ideas

Grammar and Linguistics

Teaching material

Concerning worksheets

Concerning powerpoints

Concerning online exercises

Make suggestions, report errors

Ask for help

Message board

ESL forum > Teaching material > Books    

Books

ashley moyle
Australia

Books

Can anyone suggest some work books for teaching younger kids (years 2 and 4) english. I would like to teach them in a structured way. But, I am new to teaching english. Its one thing to speak it, but another to explain it. Who thought it could be so difficult!

PS: Please check out some of my worksheets.

Thank you.

8 May 2009      

ants
Switzerland

Hi Ashley,

I wouldn �t teach anything like that, in the way of grammar rules, etc to kids so young.

Learning at that age should be fun...that �s the best way of learning anything.
Kids like playing games and learn very fast that way.Smile

Play games with flashcards and make simple sentences and even if they just say a word...it �s a start...the rest they �ll learn when they are a bit older.

Check out MES-English.com and get ideas for fun games/flashcards there or other sites for really young kids!!

Good luck and make learning fun for the kids and you �ll also enjoy the lesson!!Thumbs Up
Fiona

8 May 2009     

ants
Switzerland

OOps it �s too early in the morning for me to be on the computer!!
I �ve just seen my mistake!!LOL
Good luck with finding books for your students!!
Fiona.

8 May 2009     

catturn
Australia

Hi Ashley,

Its a whole new ball game with this age group because you can �t rely on reading and writing! Here �s some ideas: